HENINEN.NETMONUMENTS.KARELIA.RUSuomiРусскийNewsInformationPhotoarchiveVideoarchivePressLinksGuestbook
A parade of military history festivals opened in Karelia

A series of military history festivals began in Karelia on Sunday. The events are devoted to the 60th anniversary of Victory in the Great Patriotic War.

The clubs of military history aficionados from Petrozavodsk and St.Petersburg gave theatrical performances in the Suojärvi district on Sunday, the organizing committee told RIA Novosti. They reproduced a battle between Soviet and Finnish troops.

The “soldiers” wore WWII-time uniforms and carried weapons of that time. The performance took place in the area of intense WWII fighting. Trenches, shelters, and dugouts, i.e., the defensive lines of the Soviet and Finnish armies, have survived at the site to this day.

There are also 15 burial places where Soviet and Finnish soldiers and officers lie. A wreath-laying ceremony at the monuments to the soldiers, a concert of military songs, and sporting events were also central on the festival program.

A field kitchen provided visitors and participants with food and drinks. Similar festivals will take place in Karelia’s Medvezhegorsk and Pitkäranta districts in June - August 2005.

The military history festivals are designed to popularize that period of history and promote patriotic education. In addition, the organizers want to draw the attention of the authorities and the public to the need to preserve military history monuments and include them into the domain of culture, education, and tourism.

There are 500 sites and buildings of military history in the republic. Most of them date back to WWII. They are part of the common military history of Russia and Finland.

The “parade” of festivals was organized by the republic’s Center for the State Protection of Cultural Heritage in coöperation with Karelia’s Culture Ministry, and the local self-government bodies of the Suojärvi, Medvezhegorsk, and Pitkäranta districts.

Alexei UKKONE
RIA Novosti, March 13, 2005


© Monuments.karelia.ru, 2003–2005
© Heninen.net, 2003–2017

HENINEN.NETMONUMENTS.KARELIA.RUSuomiEnglishНовостиИнформацияФотоархивВидеоархивПрессаСсылкиОтзывы
В Карелии открылся Парад военно-исторических фестивалей

В Карелии в воскресенье открылся республиканский Парад военно-исторических фестивалей, посвященный 60-летию победы в Великой отечественной войне.

Как сообщили РИА "Новости" в оргкомитете мероприятия, в этот день в Суоярвском районе прошло театрализованное представление клубов любителей военной истории из Петрозаводска и Санкт-Петербурга, которые представили зрителям реконструкцию боя между войсками Советского Союза и Финляндии.

Участники "сражения" выступали в форме и с оружием времен Второй мировой войны. Представление проходило в районе, где в годы войны разворачивались активные боевые действия и до сих пор сохранились остатки оборонительных сооружений советской и финской армий - траншей, окопов, дзотов и блиндажей.

Здесь же находятся 15 братских захоронений, где покоятся останки советских и финских воинов. В рамках фестиваля также состоялось возложение цветов к памятникам павших воинов, концерт песен военных лет, спортивные соревнования.

Для всех желающих работала полевая кухня. Аналогичные военно-исторические фестивали пройдут в Медвежьегорском и Питкярантском районах республики в июне-августе 2005 года.

Парад военно-исторических фестивалей проводится с целью популяризации изучения военной истории, и патриотического воспитания. Кроме того, организаторы надеются привлечь внимание органов власти и общественности к сохранению объектов военной истории и добиться включения этих объектов в сферу культуры, образования и туризма.

Всего на территории Карелии находится более 500 объектов военной истории, большинство из которых относятся к периоду Второй мировой войны и являются частью общей военной истории России и Финляндии.

Парад фестивалей организован Республиканским центром по государственной охране объектов культурного наследия при содействии министерства культуры Карелии и администраций местного самоуправления Суоярвского, Медвежьегорского, Питкярантского районов.

Алексей УККОНЕ
РИА Новости, 13 марта 2005 года


© Monuments.karelia.ru, 2003–2005
© Heninen.net, 2003–2017