HENINEN.NETMONUMENTS.KARELIA.RUSuomiРусскийNewsInformationPhotoarchiveVideoarchivePressLinksGuestbook
The Military-Historical Festival "Karelian Borders. Medvezhegorsk"

One of the most interesting objects of the war history on the territory of Karelia- the complex of the Finnish defensive structures of the World War II period- is situated in the town of Medvezhegorsk.

After the town had been captured by the Finnish troops in December 1941, the headquarter of Finland faced a question to build a powerful fortification on its territory. In the middle of 1944 all the dominant hills, circling the town from 3 sides, had been turned into powerful command posts with numerous weapon emplacements, camouflaged by wire entanglements and mine-fields. Carefully masked defenses were presented by complex constructions, carved out in the rocks. The special sphere forms with holes for observing and shooting were in the upper side of the dugouts. It turned out, that the Medvezhegorsk defensive potential had not been realized: in June 1944 the town was won back. Some fortifications were exploded, the engineering equipment was dismantled.

At present the carved in the rocks pill-boxes, barracks, shelters, anti-tank obstacles and other defences have been preserved.

June 13, 2004. Medvezhegorsk. Festival, the 2004
Medvezhegorsk. Festival, the 2004

On 13 June 2004 on the territory of the Finnish defensive complex the military-historical festival "Karelian Borders. Medvezhegorsk" was held. This festival was a component part of the festivals' parade, devoted to the 60th Anniversary of Karelia's liberation from the invaders. This event was organized by the local administration of the Medvezhegorsk district, the State Center for Protection and Management of Historic and Cultural Monuments of the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Karelia as well as the Medvezhegorsk town museum.

The tragic pages of history of our Motherland are closely connected with the military-historical objects, that's why the festival was opened with Memorial Action at the Common Grave of the Soviet soldiers, fallen dead in the fights during the defending and liberating of the town of Medvezhegorsk.

The festival was held on the mountain Lysukha, which is situated in the outskirts of Medvezhegorsk. The re-enaction of the "fight" was on the real defensive line of the Finnish troops of the Grate Patriotic War period. The "fighters" of the Finnish Army defended themselves in the pill-box, preserved from the war-times. As a result of the attack of the Workers' and Peasants' Red Army the pill-box was taken, the Soviet Banner was erected instead of the Finnish Flag. The original uniform and the ammunition of the participants as well as the fire-technical effects made the historical interpretation look real. This "battle" of the 1944 period was re-enacted by the Military-History Amateurs' Club "Styag"(Petrozavodsk) and the clubs of the Military-History Re-enaction from St. Petersburg.

June 13, 2004. Medvezhegorsk. Festival, the 2004
Medvezhegorsk. Festival, the 2004

The cultural programme as well as other happenings in the frame of the festival was connected to the War theme. The songs of the War-times, folk-music and folk-dances were in the programme. The guests of the festival were guided to the carved in the rock soldiers' barrack. The huge dark barrack, lighted by torches, created great impression on the visitors.

The representatives of the tourist firms, who took part in the advertising tour in the frame of the festival, marked that this unforgettable event could be included in the programme of tourists' visits to Karelia. The advertising tour participants had an opportunity to get acquainted with the infrastructure of Medvezhegorsk - places, where tourists could have accommodation, meals and a rest.

The Military-Historical Festival became a real immersion into history, aimed at popularizing the events of the war history as well as paying a tribute of respect to those who defended our Motherland in the Great Patriotic War.

Press-office of the State Centre for Protection and Managing
of Monuments of History and Culture of the Ministry of Culture,
the Republic of Karelia


© Monuments.karelia.ru, 2003–2005
© Heninen.net, 2003–2017

HENINEN.NETMONUMENTS.KARELIA.RUSuomiEnglishНовостиИнформацияФотоархивВидеоархивПрессаСсылкиОтзывы
Военно-исторический фестиваль «Карельские рубежи. Медвежьегорск»

В Медвежьегорске находится один из интереснейших объектов военной истории на территории Карелии - комплекс финских оборонительных укреплений периода второй мировой войны.

После взятия города финскими войсками в декабре 1941 года перед военным командованием Финляндии встал вопрос о создании на его территории мощного укрепрайона. К середине 1944 года все господствующие высоты, окаймляющие Медвежьегорск с трех сторон, были превращены в сильные опорные пункты с многочисленными огневыми точками, прикрытыми проволочными заграждениями и минными полями. Тщательно замаскированные оборонительные пункты представляли собой комплексные сооружения, вырубленные в скалах. Наружу выходили бронированные колпаки с отверстиями для наблюдения и стрельбы. События сложились так, что созданный в Медвежьегорске оборонительный потенциал практически не был использован, в июне 1944 года город был взят советскими войсками. Часть укреплений была взорвана, инженерное оборудование демонтировано.

В настоящее время сохранились вырубленные в скалах доты, казармы, убежища, противотанковые заграждения из камня и иные военно-инженерные сооружения.

13 июня 2004 года. Медвежьегорск. Фестиваль 2004 года
Медвежьегорск. Фестиваль 2004 года

13 июня 2004 года территория комплекса финских оборонительных укреплений стала площадкой для проведения военно-исторического фестиваля «Карельские рубежи. Медвежьегорск», являющегося составной частью парада военно-исторических фестивалей, посвященных 60-летию освобождения Карелии от фашистских захватчиков. Организаторы - Администрация местного самоуправления Медвежьегорского района, Государственный центр по охране и использованию памятников истории и культуры МК РК, Медвежьегорский городской музей.

С военно-историческими объектами связаны трагические страницы истории нашей родины, поэтому начался фестиваль с мемориальной акции у братской могилы в память советских воинов, павших в боях при обороне и освобождении города Медвежьегорска.

Фестиваль проходил на горе Лысуха, расположенной на окраине города. Реконструкция «боя» проводилась на подлинной линии обороны финских войск периода Великой Отечественной войны. «Бойцы» финской армии оборонялись в сохранившемся со времен войны доте. В результате наступления частей РККА дот был взят, вместо финского флага, развевавшегося над ним, был водружен советский флаг. Подлинная униформа и амуниция участников, пиротехнические эффекты приблизили историческую интерпретацию к действительности. Эту баталию периода 1944 года представили члены Клуба любителей военной истории «Стягъ» (г.Петрозаводск), клубов военно-исторической реконструкции из Санкт-Петербурга.

13 июня 2004 года. Медвежьегорск. Фестиваль 2004 года
Медвежьегорск. Фестиваль 2004 года

Культурная программа, как и другие мероприятия, проведенные в рамках фестиваля, была связана с военной тематикой. На концерте звучали песни военных лет, выступал народный хор, работала полевая кухня. Гости фестиваля в сопровождении экскурсовода посетили один из крупнейших объектов линии обороны - вырубленную в скале солдатскую казарму. Из-за отсутствия электричества рассмотреть ее можно было только при свете факелов, что усилило впечатление от увиденного.

Представители туристских фирм г.Петрозаводска, принявшие участие в рекламном туре, организованном на фестиваль, отметили, что это яркое, зрелищное мероприятие можно включать в программу пребывания туристов в Карелии. Участникам рекламного тура была предоставлена возможность познакомиться с инфраструктурой г.Медвежьегорска - местами проживания, питания и отдыха туристов.

Военно-исторический фестиваль стал для зрителей подлинным погружением в историю, зрелищным и действенным средством популяризации военной истории, данью уважения тем, кто защищал нашу родину в годы Великой Отечественной войны.

Пресс-центр Государственного центра по охране и
использованию памятников истории и культуры Министерства Культуры
Республики Карелия


© Monuments.karelia.ru, 2003–2005
© Heninen.net, 2003–2017